Novi Sad to host the FIBA U19 World Championship

Novi Sad to host the FIBA U19 World Championship
Feb 09, 2007, 04:33 pm
FIBA announced in a press release today that the U19 World Championship, previously scheduled to be held in Vancouver, Canada, has been awarded to Novi Sad, Serbia.

DraftExpress broke the scoop on Vancouver backing out on hosting the event initially, which you can read about here.

The following is the press release from FIBA:

GENEVA/NOVI SAD (FIBA U19 World Championship) – Serbia and the city of Novi Sad have been awarded the organization of the 8th edition of the FIBA U19 World Championship for Men (12th-22nd July 2007), it was announced today by FIBA.

The 2007 FIBA U19 World Championship will mark the first time that Serbia hosts a FIBA youth tournament. In 2005 Serbia organized the European Championship (EuroBasket).

The 16-team championship comprises representatives from all five continents. The draw that will determine the composition of the four groups of four squads each will take place in a date and location that will be announced shortly.

The tournament will be played in two arenas of the Sport Center Vojvodina, the second biggest multi-sports complex in the world. Both arenas are fully FIBA certified and have capacities of 8.500 and 2.500 seats.

The championship had to be reallocated after the original host, Vancouver (Canada), pulled out on 15th January 2007. Vancouver was assigned the organization of the event in July 2006.

The FIBA U19 World Championship is the world's most prestigious basketball youth event. Stars such as Australia's Andrew Bogut, Spain's Pau Gasol and USA's Vince Carter all had their first world international experience at this championship.

FIBA U19 World Championship - Event outline

As of 2007, the FIBA U19 World Championship for Men will be played every two years, in odd years. The FIBA U19 World Championship, which was first played in 1979 in Brazil, determines the best basketball nation of the world in this age category. The USA has won the tournamentÂ’s gold medal three times (1979, 1983 and 1991), while Australia (2003), Greece (1995), Spain (1999) and Yugoslavia (1987) have each captured the title once.

The 8th edition of the FIBA U19 World Championship will be played from 12th to 22nd July 2007 in Novi Sad (Serbia) with 16 teams comprised of players born in 1988 or after.

Following is the list of participating teams that have qualified for this championship:

Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Korea, Lebanon, Lithuania, Mali, Nigeria, Puerto Rico, P.R. of China, Serbia, Spain, Turkey and USA.

Teams will play against each other in the Preliminary Round, in four groups of four teams each. The three top teams from each group will then qualify directly for the Eighth-Final Round which is played in two groups of six. The four top teams from these groups will then qualify for the Quarter-Finals, Semi-Finals and Finals to be played on a one-game elimination basis.

Recent articles

8.5 Points
8.8 Rebounds
2.6 Assists
19.0 PER
0.0 Points
0.0 Rebounds
0.0 Assists
0.0 PER
5.0 Points
2.1 Rebounds
0.8 Assists
7.6 PER

Twitter @DraftExpress

DraftExpress Shop